The Academy of France in Rome will host a new class of boarders at the Villa Medici in Rome, starting in September 2013. The selection competition is open to artists and researchers of all nationalities, who speak French and are over the age of 20 and under the age of 45 on 31 December 2013.

Founded in 1666 by Louis XIV, the Académie de France in Rome welcomed the greatest French artists and architects, from Fragonard to Ingres, Berlioz, Carpeaux, Bizet, Debussy, Garnier... Today it is open internationally to all fields of literary and artistic creation and art history, as well as the restoration of works of art and monuments. François Rouan, Henri Loyrette, Ange Leccia, Bernard Frize, Patrick Faigenbaum, Marie NDiaye, Pascal Dusapin, Hervé Guibert, Xavier Beauvois, Yan Pei-Ming, Valérie Mrejen, Malik Mezzadri, Philippe Rham, Laurent Grasso, Nick Aeyannel, Elisabeth Ballet, Fannette Mellier, Manon Recordon, Yvane Chapuis…

The Académie de France in Rome has three complementary missions:

  1. to offer the possibility to artists and researchers, of French nationality or of any other nationality, to improve in their disciplines (mission «Colbert»);
  2. stimulate cultural relations and exchanges between Italy and France, with a resolutely open mind on Europe and the world (Malraux mission);
  3. To preserve, restore, make known and enhance the Villa Medici, its gardens and outbuildings, as well as the cultural properties that are preserved and which it has custody of.

The major exhibitions, the public concerts, the film screenings, the colloquia, realized in collaboration with Italian public bodies as well as the events related to the Exhibition Theatre, organized by the residents of the Villa Medici, particularly illustrate this triple mission of the Academy.


The members of the jury for this 2013-2014 selection are:

  • the plastic artist Adel Abdessemed
  • Cinema designer and producer Agnès Troublé (Agnès B)
  • singer Donatienne Michel-Dansac
  • the producer in France Culture Arnaud Laporte

Eric de Chassey, director of the Académie de France in Rome, is the president of the jury. Pierre Oudart, Deputy Director in charge of plastic arts at the Ministry of Culture and Communication and Thierry Tuot, President of the Board of Directors of the Académie de France in Rome, are also members of the jury.

In addition, the following shall be designated as assistant rapporteurs to the Selection Board:

For architecture : Djamel Klouche
For the plastic arts : Natacha Lesueur, Miquel Mont, Claire Moulène
For musical composition :Malik Mezzadri, Yann Robin and Fernand Vandenbogaerde
For the design and crafts: Brigitte Flamand and Matali Crasset
For script writing : Juliette Sales and Cyril Neyrat
For the history of art : Marion Boudon-Machuel and Nicolas Milovanovic
For literature : Philippe Artières and Yannick Haenel
For photography : Esther Shalev-Gerz and Diane Dufour
For the restoration of works of art and monuments : Véronique Milande and Xavier Bonnet
For the scenography, the directionand choreography : Dominique Pitoiset and Radhouane El Meddeb

Candidates for the Académie de France in Rome can apply for all disciplines and genres of literary and artistic creation as well as art history, art history (history of music, theatre, cinema, etc.) and restoration of works of art or monuments. The maximum number of scholarships offered under the 2013 selection to candidates for a stay at the Académie de France in Rome is set at 12.

2013-2014 AFR competition: list of selected candidates

Jakuta Alikavazovic
Géraldine Kosiak
Ryoko Sekiguchi

Crafts/ Design
Emmanuel Carlier

Simon de Dreuille

Musical composition
Nicolas Chaix
Sebastian Rivas

Art history
Amélie Bernazzani
Giovanna Zapperi

Plastic arts
Hicham Berrada

Assaf Shoshan

The 11 future residents will start their stay from the month of September 2013.