Brittany now has 14 "Cities and Countries of Art and History".

Created 38 years ago, the label "Cities and Countries of Art and History" has played an extremely positive role in the preservation and presentation of the heritage, in particular the awareness of schools and inhabitants of their living environment, the development of public spaces, the creation of centres of interpretation of architecture and heritage (CIAP) and the development of tourist attractiveness. This label now includes more than 200 territories that are home to about 15 million inhabitants.

The 4 Breton "Countries of art and history" are those of the Trégor, Morlaix, Quimperlé and the Rohan.

The 8 Breton "Cities of art and history" are those of Concarneau, Brest, Quimper, Dinan, Dinard, Fougères, Vitré, Rennes, Lorient and Vannes.

Since 2020, the award, for a period of 10 years, of the label «Cities and Countries of Art and History» is a decentralized procedure of the Ministry of Culture. The examination of the files of new labelling, as of renewal, is no longer done in the National Council of Cities and Countries of Art and History but in each Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs (DRAC), within the Regional Heritage and Architecture Commissions (RCAP).

The first two signatures of agreements validated at the end of the presentations and debates in CRPA have just been formalized for the City of Concarneau and for the Country of Trégor:

The next signatures will take place on 17 May 2023 for the renewal of the Pays de Morlaix label and on 22 June 2023 for the Métropole de Rennes label.