Thesis prize "Valois"

The 2021 edition of the award, hosted by the History Committee of the Ministry of Culture, was announced on 1er march 2021.

The jury, chaired by Maryvonne de Saint Pulgent, President of the History Committee of the Ministry of Culture, was made up of 6 personalities qualified in the field of cultural policies:

  • Marie Cornu, Research Director at CNRS, ISP
  • Pascale Goetschel, Professor of Contemporary History, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Centre d'histoire sociale du XXth century (UMR 8058)
  • Nathalie Heinich, Research Director at CNRS, Centre de recherche sur les arts et le langage (CRAL-UMR 8566 EHESS/CNRS)
  • Laurent Martin, professor of history, Université Paris 3 Sorbonne-Nouvelle, ICEE laboratory
  • Jean-Baptiste Minnaert, professor of contemporary art history, Sorbonne University, director of the André Chastel Centre (UMR 8150)
  • Pierre Oudart, Director General of the Institut national supérieur d'enseignement artistique Marseille Méditerranée

For this fourth edition, as in previous years, the department received a large number of high-quality applications. At the end of its deliberations on 10 November 2021, the jury selected the following three winners:

  • Violette Abergel, Digital wall art survey: definition of an innovative approach combining geometric, visual and semantic properties within a mixed reality environment, PhD thesis in Design and Engineering Sciences, Ecole nationale supérieure d'arts et métiers, HESAM University, under the direction of Livio de Luca and Philippe Veron, co-supervised by Kévin Jacquot.
  • Pierre Nocérino, Comic book authors: the frustrated formation of a social group, PhD thesis in Sociology, Ecole des hautes études en sciences sociales, edited by Cyril Lemieux.
  • Marina Rotolo, The production of the city in context labeled. Matera, European Capital of Culture in 2019, PhD thesis in Architecture, Université Paris Est, edited by Nathalie Lancret and Adèle Esposito.

Roselyne Bachelot-Narquin, Minister of Culture, presented the awards to the three recipients on November 18, 2021 and congratulated the recipients on the quality of their research. The number and quality of applications received, despite the difficult conditions associated with the health crisis, attest to the vitality of research on cultural policies. Research must continue to be encouraged and supported; its results disseminated and valued in order to help inform public policy.