I International Grand Jury of "Contemporary Talents 2012" met at the François Schneider Foundation Contemporary Art Center on May 15, 2013. At the end of the deliberations, President Jean-Noël Jeanneney communicated the list of winners.

  • "Contemporary Talent" category drawing: Jessie Brennan for her work The cut
  • "Contemporary Talent" installation category: Hicham Berrada for his work Miller-Urey Arch
  • "Contemporary Talent" category painting: Claire Chesnier for her work CCIX-CCVIII
  • "Contemporary Talent" category photography: Rahshia Linendoll-Sawyer for her work We are not made of wood
  • "Contemporary Talent" sculpture category: Valère Costes for her work Dark Rain
  • "Contemporary Talent" video category: Nour Awada for his work The dripping

Unanimously, the Water Talent 2012 was awarded to Mehdi Medacci for his work Walls.

The exhibition of the works of the winners "Contemporary Talents 2012" will be organized during the year 2014 at the Foundation’s art centre.

The "Contemporary Talents" competition: The François Schneider Foundation aims to support contemporary creation on the theme of water. Its ambition is to discover, accompany and reveal new talents to the general public.

Selection of Laureates by the International Grand Jury: After selection of 40 finalists by 4 committees of experts in each category (sculpture/installation, painting/drawing, photography and video), the Grand Jury, composed of renowned personalities, chooses the seven winners of the "Talents contemporains 2012".

The annual endowment is 300,000 € shared between the seven winners: the distribution of the sums allocated to each artist varies according to the budgets necessary for the realization of the works.

The International Grand Jury is composed of: Jean-Noël Jeanneney, President of the Jury, Michel Grilli, collector of contemporary art and head of the Committee for the acquisition of contemporary art works of the European Investment Bank, Daniel Lelong, Lelong Gallery (Paris, Zurich, New York), Rosa Maria Malet, Director of the Joan Miró Foundation in Barcelona, Fabrizio Plessi, artist, laureate of the Venice Biennale, Alain Poirée, Director of the Foundation.

Fondation François Schneider, 27 rue de la Première Armée - 68700 Wattwiller. Tel.: 03 89 82 10 10.