The 2018 jury, which met for the first time on 12 September under the chairmanship of Françoise Nyssen, Minister of Culture, has appointed six architects from whom will be chosen the winner of the National Grand Prix of Architecture (GPNA):

- Pierre-Louis FALOCI

- Dominique LYON

- Philippe MADEC

- Philippe PROST

- Bernard QUIROT

- Corinne VEZZONI

The jury’s decision was based on feedback from a call for proposals to more than 3,000 qualified individuals (French and European architects, project owners, managers of French and European venues, French and European journalists, representatives of professional and institutional bodies), inviting them to propose names of architects or architectural agencies, likely to receive the 2018 NAMP. This online questionnaire was also relayed by the National Council of the Order of Architects to all the architects listed on the board.

During this first session, the jury determined the criteria for the selection of the six appointed architects, including:

- Exemplarity and consistency of professional career and architectural production;

- Commitment to serve social issues, particularly environmental issues;

- The territorial and national anchorage of commitment;

- The programmatic diversity of projects including housing;

- Theoretical contributions in the fields of research and teaching;

- The link between the aesthetic, ethical and constructive values of production;

- Taking into account the uses for a daily architecture;

- The ability to build with existing and transform it.


The jury will meet again on Friday, October 19, to nominate the GPNA 2018. Françoise Nyssen will announce the name of the laureate in the salons of the Ministry of Culture, and will give him the diploma designed by Daniel Buren.

The 2018 jury, made up of architects, contractors, institutions and a representative of the press, brings together:

Marie-Hélène Badia, Architect, State Consultant Architect – Henri Bava, landscape designer, Grand Prix de l'urbanisme 2018, Grand Prix national du paysage 2007 – Frédéric Borel, Architect, 2010 National Architectural Grand Prix – Paul Chemetov, architect, Grand Prix national de l'architecture 1980 – Paul Delduc, Director General of Planning, Housing and Nature (DGALN), Ministries of Ecological and Social Transition (MTES), and Territorial Cohesion (MCT) – Denis Dessus, President of the National Council of the Order of Architects – Laurent Dumas, founding president of Emerige – Jean-Marc Ibos and Myrto Vitart, Architects, 2016 National Architectural Awards – Marie-Christine Labourdette, President of the Cité de l'architecture & du patrimoine – Jean-Jacques Larrochelle, journalist at Le Monde – Bertrand Lemoine, architect, engineer and historian: Sylvie Robert, Senator d'Ille-et-Vilaine, Vice-President of the Committee on Culture, Education and Communication – Adelfo Scaranello, architect – Ramon Vilalta, Architect, 2017 Pritzker Award – Agnes Vince, Director of Architecture, Deputy Director General of Heritage, Ministry of Culture.

Since 1975, the Grand Prix national de l'architecture has rewarded an architect, or a team of architects, for all his work. The highest national distinction in the field of architecture, it is a recognition for a process of excellence.


National Architectural Awards

1975 Jean Willerval

1976 Roger Taillibert

1977 Paul Andreu, Roland Simounet

1978 Jean Renaudie

1979 Claude Parent

1980 Paul Chemetov

1981 Gérard Thurnauer, Pierre Riboulet and Jean-Louis Véret

1982 Claude Vasconi

1983 Henri-Edouard Ciriani

1984 Edmond Lay

1985 Michel Andrault and Pierre Parat

1986 Adrien Fainsilber

1987 Jean Nouvel

1989 André Wogenscky

1990 Francis Soler

1991 Christian Hauvette

1992 Christian de Portzamparc

1993 Dominique Perrault

1996 Bernard Tschumi

1998 Jacques Hondelatte

1999 Massimiliano Fuksas

2004 Patrick Berger

2006 Rudy Ricciotti

2008 Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal

2010 Frédéric Borel

2013 Marc Barani

2016 Jean-Marc Ibos and Myrto Vitart