The Granary of Plenty is one of the last witnesses of the granaries built in certain cities to dispose of wheat stocks in case of shortage, and rendered obsolete by the free movement of grains, the improvement of the road network and the evolution of storage techniques. Classified as a historical monument on 3 February 2014, it houses the headquarters of the Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs and the dance department of the National Superior Conservatory of Music and Dance.
History of the building and its rehabilitation
Located northwest of Lyon, on the left bank of the Saône, the Grenier d'Abondance was built between 1722 and 1728 under the direction of the architect Claude Bertaud de la Vaure to preserve the wheat needed for the annual diet of some 120,000 Lyonnais of the time. After the royal edict instituting the free movement of grains (1763), the building was quickly assigned to military uses: artillery store, arsenal and barracks until 1987.
The departure of the National Gendarmerie then allows the Ministry of Culture to program the installation - effective in 1993 - from the headquarters of the Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs as well as the dance studios of the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique et de Danse, established since 1988, in the former veterinary school located just opposite, quai Chauveau, on the right bank of the Saône.
The Grenier d'abondance is classified in its entirety as historical monuments (order of 3 February 2014). It has an exceptional architecture: on three levels superimposed, three rows of arch vaults falling on two series of stone pillars and two rows of pilasters engaged in the reverse of the facades. In the centre of this imposing rectangular building (130 metres long, 18 metres wide), a projecting forebody with a soberly decorated triangular pediment leads to a large staircase with four nuclei giving access to the floors.
The Ministry of Culture used the architects Denis Valode and Jean Pistre et associés to furnish this unique building with the premises adapted to its new missions. Started in September 1991, the project was completed in February 1993: the proposed party allows to leave intact the original structure and to integrate modern elements in a concern for sobriety and authenticity.
In 2004, the architectural agency Philippe Couteau and Véronique VDB Girard was entrusted with a mission to adapt the ground floor of the building, according to the evolution of services, to develop waiting areas for the public, to make the reception more user-friendly, rationalize the storage space and expand the documentation centre.
The luminaires and furniture are signed by contemporary designers (Ernesto Gismondi, Herzog et de Meuron, Moroso, Starck, Ron Arad, Marco Maran).
The public, who can now take the main staircase, can discover a work by Marc Couturier "Barque de Saône", ( depot of the FRAC Rhône-Alpes) installed on the 1st floor.
The Attic of Abundance seen by
Jacqueline Salmon/ photographic commission carried out in 1991-1993
Sandrillon in Lyon blogger
History of the Granary of Plenty