Roselyne Bachelot-Narquin, Minister of Culture, congratulates the three winners of the 2020 Valois Young Researchers Thesis Award.

Created in 2017 by the Ministry of Culture and placed under the aegis of its History Committee, this award awards each year three doctoral theses for their quality, originality and essential contribution to the policies pursued by the ministry. Its purpose is to encourage young researchers to share their research on public policies of culture, whatever the disciplines and cultural fields (heritage, creation, media and cultural industries) in all aspects of these policies (institutions, professions, socio-economics of culture, etc.).

Endowed with €8,000 per laureate, this prize, a valuable aid to the publication of thesis, distinguished this year, after deliberation of the jury on 26 October 2020:

  • Marie-Sophie de Clippele, for her thesis: "Whose responsibility is it? The shared responsibility of cultural heritage, a revisited property."

This research focuses on how the law can best protect cultural heritage by taking into account the individual interest of its owner (public or private) and the collective interest of this heritage.

Doctoral thesis in law, École normale supérieure Paris-Saclay. Director: Marie Cornu (research director at the CNRS) and François Ost (Université Saint-Louis – Brussels). 

  • Nina Mansion Prud'homme, for her thesis: Archives d'architectes en France, 1968-1998. Actors and historiographic issues around the French Institute of Architecture.”

The thesis focuses on the creation and institutionalization of the archives of architects through the genesis and development of the French Institute of Architecture, during the last third of the XXe century, while questioning the evolution of the history of architecture as a discipline.

Doctoral thesis in art history, Université Bordeaux Montaigne. Director: Gilles Ragot (Université Bordeaux Montaigne) and David Peycéré (Ecole du Louvre). 

  • Mathilde Provansal, for her thesis: "Artistes mais femmes. Formation, carrière et réputation dans l'art contemporain."

Her work questions the paradox of the low representation of women artists at the highest levels of the plastic arts career despite the strong feminization of the training and the relative diversity of the professional world of plastic artists, while stressing how cultural policies are one of the main levers in the fight against gender inequalities.

Doctoral thesis in sociology, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne. Direction: Marie Buscatto (Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne).

These prizes are awarded after deliberation by the jury, chaired by Maryvonne de Saint Pulgent, President of the History Committee, and made up of six eminent persons in the field of cultural policies: Arlette Auduc, Chief Curator of Honorary Heritage, correspondent of the History Committee of the Ministry of Culture for Heritage, Anaïs Fléchet, lecturer in contemporary history, deputy director of the Centre d'histoire culturelle des sociétés contemporaines of the University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, member of the History Committee, Xavier Greffe , Professor Emeritus of Economics, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, Françoise Mélonio, Professor Emeritus of French Literature, Université Paris-Sorbonne, Bruno Péquignot, professor emeritus of sociology, Université Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3 and Noé Wagener, professor of law, University of Rouen.

The Minister of Culture welcomes the very high level of the theses examined this year and wishes to thank the members of the jury and the History Committee, in particular its president, Maryvonne de Saint Pulgent, for this third edition of which she praises the success. The large number and quality of applications received reflects the vitality of cultural policy research, a field of research that must continue to be supported, to anchor the action of the ministry in a multidisciplinary reflection and a long-term history.

The presentations of the three winning theses are available on the website of the Ministry of Culture here.