Franck Riester, Minister of Culture, today proclaimed Pierre-Louis Faloci, winner of the 2018 Grand Prix national de l'architecture. Created in 1975, this award, which rewards an architect or an architectural agency for all his career and his work, represents the highest national distinction in this field.

The jury recognized the exemplary nature of Pierre-Louis Faloci’s career and work, in terms of the aesthetic, ethical and constructive values of his architectural work, as well as his commitment to social issues, especially environmental issues.

The first projects of Pierre-Louis Faloci earned him quick recognition at the end of his studies.

His many achievements testify to his ability to build with the existing and transform it. Among these: the Church of Our Lady of Wisdom in the new district of Seine Rive Gauche in Paris in 2001, today labeled Outstanding contemporary architecturethe transformation of the Rodin Museum in 2007, and more recently the rehabilitation of the former Sugar Hall in Dunkerque.

The work of Pierre-Louis Faloci has received numerous nominations and awards. The Centre européen d'archéologie du Mont Beuvray in Glux-en-Glenne, won him the Équerre d'argent in 1996.

For the jury, the works of Pierre-Louis Faloci demonstrate that architecture is a whole that must deal with the landscape, but also the history and memory of the places. They are proof that architectural, urban, landscape and cultural issues are inseparable.

Passionate about photography and painting, he transmits this exercise of the look in the teaching that he gives to students of national higher schools of architecture.

This choice follows a broad consultation with 3,000 French and European architecture stakeholders (architects, project owners, managers of venues, journalists, representatives of professional and institutional organizations) and whose results were reviewed by the jury. The Committee, composed of architects, contractors, institutions and a press representative, met twice. For the first time on 12th September last, the jury had to define the criteria for the selection of the six appointed architects. It then met a second time today, to designate, at the end of a day of debates, the National Grand Prix of Architecture 2018.

Like each of his predecessors, Pierre-Louis Faloci received from the Minister of Culture the diploma created by the artist Daniel Buren. This Grand Prix invites him to participate in national reflections in the field of architecture. The City of Architecture and Heritage will dedicate an exhibition and a work to his work. Finally, Pierre-Louis Faloci will have the opportunity to exchange and share his professional perspective in the framework of a master-class organized by the National Institutes of Architecture.

Franck Riester, Minister of Culture, praised the work of the five other architects named Dominique Lyon/ Agence du Besset-Lyon, Philippe Madec, Philippe Prost, Bernard Quirot and Corinne Vezzoni, whose commitment to a quality living environment he welcomes.

The 2018 jury of the Grand Prix national de l'architecture gathered this year:

Marie-Hélène Badia, Architect, State Consultant Architect – Henri Bava, landscape designer, Grand Prix de l'urbanisme 2018, Grand Prix national du paysage 2007 – Frédéric Borel, Architect, 2010 National Architectural Grand Prix – Paul Chemetov, architect, Grand Prix national de l'architecture 1980 – Paul Delduc, Director General of Planning, Housing and Nature (DGALN), Ministries of Ecological and Solidarity Transition (MTES), and Territorial Cohesion and Relations with Local and Regional Authorities (MCTRCT) – Denis Dessus, President of the National Council of the Order of Architects – Laurent Dumas, founding president of Emerige – Jean-Marc Ibos and Myrto Vitart, Architects, 2016 National Architectural Awards – Marie-Christine Labourdette, President of the Cité de l'architecture & du patrimoine – Jean-Jacques Larrochelle, journalist at Le Monde – Bertrand Lemoine, architect, engineer and historian: Sylvie Robert, Senator d'Ille-et-Vilaine, Vice-President of the Committee on Culture, Education and Communication – Adelfo Scaranello, architect – Ramon Vilalta, Architect, 2017 Pritzker Award – Agnes Vince, Director of Architecture, Deputy Director General of Heritage, Ministry of Culture


National Architectural Awards

1975 Jean Willerval

1976 Roger Taillibert

1977 Paul Andreu and Roland Simounet

1978 Jean Renaudie

1979 Claude Parent

1980 Paul Chemetov

1981 Gérard Thurnauer, Pierre Riboulet and Jean-Louis Véret

1982 Claude Vasconi

1983 Henri-Edouard Ciriani

1984 Edmond Lay

1985 Michel Andrault and Pierre Parat

1986 Adrien Fainsilber

1987 Jean Nouvel

1989 André Wogenscky

1990 Francis Soler

1991 Christian Hauvette

1992 Christian de Portzamparc

1993 Dominique Perrault

1996 Bernard Tschumi

1998 Jacques Hondelatte

1999 Massimiliano Fuksas

2004 Patrick Berger

2006 Rudy Ricciotti

2008 Anne Lacaton and Jean-Philippe Vassal

2010 Frédéric Borel

2013 Marc Barani

2016 Jean-Marc Ibos and Myrto Vitart