Created in 2011 as part of the policy of cultural democratization led by the Ministry of Culture, the award Heritage for all distinguishes a remarkable approach in terms of generalized accessibility for people with motor, visual, auditory or mental disabilities.

This annual prize is awarded to national heritage establishments or those belonging to local authorities which have implemented a policy of generalized accessibility of quality and of exemplary value for persons with disabilities. It highlights the most innovative achievements in the field of cultural offerings aimed at greater autonomy for people with disabilities, and puts in perspective the ambition of universal accessibility.

The jury, which met last November, decided on the following winners:

  • First prize: MuséoParc d'Alésia to Alise-Sainte-Reine

The candidacy of the MuséoParc d'Alesia was unanimous in its high quality. This interpretive centre, inaugurated in 2012, has integrated universal accessibility from its conception and at all stages of its project. The travel chain offers seamless continuity from the outskirts of the site while the cultural offer and the wide range of mediation tools reflect the constant concern for the inclusion of visitors with disabilities and the willingness of teams to promote their autonomy.

In June 2018, MuséoParc was awarded the “Tourism and Disability” state mark for the four types of disability: hearing, mental, motor and visual. In addition, it has been able to set up a perfectly flexible and accessible website which is also part of an exemplary approach.


  • Second prize ex aequo: Crozatier Museum in Puy-en-Velay and Granet Museum in Aix-en-Provence

The Crozatier Museum reopened to the public in July 2018, after seven years of closure and extensive rehabilitation work. The jury particularly praised the fact that the autonomy of the visit is effectively the focus of a new simplified museum route. He was also sensitive to the museum’s new scientific and cultural project, which is an inclusive approach supported by mediation tools for everyone.

The Granet Museum took advantage of a major renovation and restructuring phase to improve its accessibility system in a remarkable way. The jury did not fail to draw a parallel between this case and that of the MuséoParc d'Alésia. Both have in fact perfectly integrated the concept of service throughout a visit route guaranteeing the travel chain. The Granet Museum also has an inclusive policy for all.


  • Third prize: Archives départementales des Deux-Sèvres

The jury welcomed the candidacy of a Departmental Archives Centre although the comparison with museum proposals is complex. The Archives are places of citizenship where all audiences can meet. Their territorial network is in itself an important lever for the development of the public and a clear asset in the policies of generalized accessibility.

The Archives départementales des Deux-Sèvres also make the concept of «chain of accessibility» the common thread of their project and concretely integrate the idea that generalized accessibility is consubstantial to the autonomy of the visitor-reader.


  • Special Mention: Mucem

Mucem receives a special mention. With a rich and rigorous record, in the image of the museum’s very successful policy of generalized accessibility, the candidacy of the Mucem made the unanimity of the jury.

Accessibility issues have been part of the objectives of this national museum, which has been open to the public since 2013. These issues were taken into account at the time of the establishment’s design and remain the focus of the entire team.

Le Mucem was awarded the State mark «Tourism and Disability» for the four disabled families in July 2014, one year after its opening, and it is one of the three winners of the 4e Tourism trophies accessible in the category «Places of visits».

The price Heritage for all is fully in line with the Ministry of Culture’s fight against all forms of discrimination. Heritage for all is also an important tool in the service of the orientations defined by the Interdepartmental Committee on Disability chaired by the Prime Minister.

Since its creation in 2011, the Heritage for all distinguished 35 heritage institutions.


Jury composition:

- Jean-Michel Loyer-Hascoët: Acting Director General of Assets
- Emmanuelle Lallement: Head of the Public Policy Department
- Franck Guillaumet: Public Development Officer "Museums of the 21st Century" at the Department of Public Policy

- Brigitte Thorin: Departmental Accessibility Delegate

- Luc Thulliez: Responsible for accessibility, security. DGE - Tourism Branch

- Annette Masson: President of the Tourism and Disability Association

- Danielle Depaux: President Ile-de-France – UNAPEI (Union Nationale des Associations de Parents et Amis des Personnes Handicapées Mentales)

- Olivier Paradis: President of the Braille & Culture Association

- Roger Chatelard: Departmental President and Treasurer General Federation APAJH

- Claire Dupuy: UNISDA General Delegate

- Bénédicte Rolland-Villemot: Service des Musées de France, office of territorial networks

- Brigitte Guigueno: Department of Archives of France

- Philippe Cieren: Head of the Department of Heritage Inspection

- Marie-José Doubroff: Office of Engineering and Technical Expertise, Sub-Directorate of Historic Monuments and Protected Areas (in representation of Jean-François Delhay)

- Sandrine Sophys-Veret: Responsible for Disability Culture, SCPCI / DEDAC / General Secretariat