Françoise Nyssen, Minister of Culture, has appointed Béatrice Salmon as Head of Service, Deputy Director in charge of Plastic Arts within the Directorate General of Artistic Creation of the Ministry of Culture.

A cultural and scientific advisor at the Embassy of France in Belgium from 2013 to 2017, Béatrice Salmon previously directed the Musée des Arts Décoratifs in Paris for 13 years.

Holder of a DEA of art history and archaeology, Béatrice Salmon was first director of the Fonds régional d'art contemporain de Rennes at its creation in 1984 before working at the Ministry of Culture as an advisor for the plastic arts and then inspector of artistic creation at the Délégation aux arts plastiques. In 1992, she joined the Centre Pompidou as curator at the graphic art office of the National Museum of Modern Art. From 1995 to 2000, in Nancy, she was director of the Musée des Beaux-Arts and then director of museum development.

Béatrice Salmon succeeds Pierre Oudart who has been appointed Director of the École supérieure d'art et de design de Marseille.

Within the Directorate-General for Artistic Creation headed by Régine Hatchondo, the Department of Visual Arts is responsible for the Ministry of Culture for public policies in favour of contemporary art, photography, design, crafts and fashion. This service implements actions to support artistic creation and dissemination and ensures the monitoring of tax and social regulations in its sectors, as well as the supervision of visual arts operators. Through its support, it promotes the presence of production and distribution venues throughout the territory to allow artists to have the tools they need to meet the public and develop their careers. It contributes to the dissemination of works in the territories by accompanying in particular the public artistic commission.

 Finally, its intervention aims to better take into account the economic conditions of production and distribution of works, especially internationally.

Marion Hislen, who will take up her duties as Chief Photography Officer at 1er February 2018, is attached to him.