Françoise Nyssen, Minister of Culture warmly congratulates the winners of the 2017 Jean Vigo Prize.

The Jean Vigo Award was presented last night, Monday, June 12, 2017 to Mathieu Amalric for his film «Barbara» with Jeanne Balibar. Presented at the opening of a Certain Regard this year in Cannes, this film received the "Prize for Cinema Poetry", specially created for the occasion by the jury of this selection.

The Jean Vigo Short Film Prize was awarded to Emmanuel Marre for «Le Film de l'été».

Finally, the Minister also salutes Aki Kaurismäki, to whom a Vigo d'Honneur was awarded this year for «having succeeded, between humour and laconism, in inventing a social and poetic cinema unlike any other, both enchanted and disenchanted».

Mathieu Amalric