The 88th Oscars will be held in Los Angeles on February 28, 2016.

As every year, the Oscar for best foreign language film will be one of the most prestigious and coveted awards. All countries are required to present the film that best represents their cinematography, according to criteria defined by the Academy of Oscars. 

Last year, a record number of 83 countries applied, with the statuette finally being awarded to “Ida” by Pawel Pawlikowski, a film presented by Poland.

The film representing France at the Oscars is selected by a commission organized under the aegis of the CNC and composed of seven personalities.

Fleur Pellerin has thus appointed three qualified personalities to complete the commission: Michel Hazanavicius, director of The Artist, which won 5 Oscars, including Best Film and Best Director in 2012, Nathalie Baye, actress, and Mélanie Laurent, actress and director. They join Thierry Frémaux, General Delegate of the Cannes Film Festival, Alain Terzian, President of the Académie des César, Jean-Paul Salomé, President of Unifrance and Serge Toubiana, President of the Commission d'avance sur recettes.

The commission will meet twice, on 16 and 23 September, to designate the film that will have the honour of representing France at the next Oscars.