Aurélie Filippetti, Minister of Culture and Communication, announces the names of the 5 teams of architects selected for the creation of a new reception space to highlight the ancient remains of the Cluny Museum – National Museum of the Middle Ages.

On Tuesday, March 11, 2014, a jury composed of representatives of the Ministry of Culture and Communication (Directorate General of Heritage - French Museum Service and Heritage Service - Directorate of the Museum, Regional Directorate of Cultural Affairs of Île-de-France), of the City of Paris, of theoperator of heritage and cultural real estate projects (Oppic) and qualified personalities, selected, among 95 candidates, 5 teams of architects:

  • Bernard Desmoulin, Silver square 2009
  • K-architectures
  • Architectures Adelfo Scaranello
  • Francisco J. Mangado y asociados
  • Philippe Prost Architecture Agency, mention à l'Angle d'argent 2004

The current consultation concerns the construction of a new building on the Boeswillwald terrace and the redevelopment of existing spaces in connection with the new construction in order to:

  • to improve the reception of the public,
  • allow a better logistical management of the works,
  • make the museum accessible to people with reduced mobility,
  • to propose several routes in ancient spaces and medieval collections,
  • facilitate the readability of the site.

The five selected candidates are invited to submit a proposal which will lead to the selection by the jury of a laureate in July 2014.

Unique testimony to the architecture of ancient and medieval times, the Museum is a remarkable heritage complex that brings together Gallo-Roman baths and the hotel of the abbots of Cluny. It welcomes more than 300,000 visitors a year.