Aurélie Filippetti, Minister of Culture and Communication, proclaims Marc Barani, laureate of the National Grand Prix of Architecture, after the jury held on Tuesday, June 25, 2013.

The Grand Prix national de l'architecture, the highest French distinction in the field, has existed since 1975 and succeeded the Grand Prix de Rome. Relaunched in 2004 by the Ministry of Culture and Communication, it rewards an architect, or a team of architects, for all his work.

The jury, chaired by Aurélie Filippetti, Minister of Culture and Communication, was able to appreciate the approach and work of five architects:

Marc Barani
Patrick Bouchain, Building
Odile Decq
Jean-Marc Ibos & Myrto Vitart
Gilles Perraudin.

These five architects won the greatest number of votes in the context of the consultation organized among two thousand qualified personalities of the world of architecture, among which architects, builders, representatives of the press, in France and Europe.

During the proclamation ceremony, Aurélie Filippetti presented Marc Barani with the laureate’s diploma, designed by artist Daniel Buren, and an endowment of €10,000.

This 56-year-old southern architect has a multidisciplinary education, from anthropology to fine arts and architecture. It leads him to claim a transversal approach to architecture, landscape and urban. Just after graduating as an architect, he left for Nepal to study a small mountain village that would mark him for a long time.

In each of his projects, he tries to find the right distance between these fields, paying scrupulous attention to the constructive detail, which he affirms is him, who makes the project pass from the scenography to the architecture. Marc Barani, architect without emphasis, with constant poetry, apprehends architecture as «a momentary putting in order of things».

He was responsible for the extension of the cemetery of Saint-Pancrace, in Roquebrune-Cap-Martin (1992), the rehabilitation of the Centre d'art contemporain de Chelle, with designer Martin Szekely (2008), that of the Fernand-Léger museum, in Biot, with stage designer Birgitte Fryland (2008), the Pôle multimodal du tramway de l'agglomération niçoise, for which it received the Équerre d'argent in 2008, and the Pont Eric Tabarly in Nantes (2011).

Today, the Grand Prix national de l'architecture pays him the greatest tribute, the recognition of an exemplary and rich career.

Beyond the award awarded to a work, this award marks the choice of a new ambassador, in France and in the world, of French architecture characterized by the diversity of its approaches and embodied by deeply humanistic values.

With this award, the Ministry of Culture and Communication salutes the entire profession of architects and architecture.