Frédéric Mitterrand, aware of the need to adapt the regulations and the distribution of the respective roles of the State and local authorities to the most contemporary challenges of the protection and enhancement of heritage and territories, instructed Thierry Tuot, State Councillor, to be the rapporteur of the committee that will serve as a framework for exchanges between all stakeholders.

Chaired by the Minister, this commission will also consist of:
- three Members;
- three Senators;
- a representative of the Association of Mayors of France;
- a representative of the Association des maires grandes villes de France;
- representatives of heritage associations;
- a representative of the Association nationale des architectes des Bâtiments de France;
- a representative of the National Council of the Order of Architects;
- two consulting architects;
- a representative of the Ministry of Ecology, Energy, Sustainable Development and the Sea
- representatives of the Ministry of Culture and Communication.
The commission will conduct a global reflection on the objectives that must be assigned to the ZPPAUP, to make them more effective tools for valuing heritage and territories, through a closer and more balanced collaboration between the State and local actors. The proposals it will formulate will make it possible to engage in a new shared dynamic of architecture and heritage policy in these areas.
The minister wants the commission to report its findings in mid-November, so that its recommendations can be taken into account, if applicable, as part of the process of passage of the National Environmental Commitment Bill, says “Grenelle II”.

List of "Commission for Reflection, Consultation and Proposal on Urban and Landscape Architectural Heritage Protection Areas (Z.P.P.P.A.U.P.)"