indexThe patron's musicianscategories

Charles-Marie Widor

Lyon 1844 - Paris 1937

Organist, Cavaillé-Coll organ in Saint-Sulpice (1870 - 1934)

Son of the organist at St.-François de Sales in Lyons, who was a descendent of organ builders from Alsace; a major figure in French music of the "Third Republic" although he is unjustly neglected today, perpetual secretary to the Academy of Fine Arts, and organist of the great organ of Saint-Sulpice from 1871 to 1934.

A member of the elite in organ music, Widor perhaps represents the most intensive pursuit of music appropriate to every stage of Cavaillé-Coll's sound, in all its grandiose developments, across the decades. In his works for the organ we see his preoccupation with creating the sweeping gesture, and he, more than Franck, was the creator of the symphony for organ.

Although he played at Saint-Sulpice for sixty-four years, and several of his compositions were based on liturgical themes, we won't find among his works a single "utilitarian" piece in the manner of Franck's "L'organiste", Guilmant's "L'Organiste Liturgiste" or Gigout's "L'Orgue à l'église". Even more than Saint-Saëns, whose work for organ is magnificent but sporadic and fundamentally classically inspired, Widor shows a constant preoccupation with pushing back the limits of the instrument. He didn't shrink from feats of technique - certainly always in the interest of convincing musical development - and took command of the symphonic tone colours and flexibility of Cavaillé-Coll's works to raise them to the same rank as the orchestral symphony.

Thus he was the sovereign player not only of a rich liturgy but also in a musical life whose richness has rarely been equalled. Widor repeated many times what he owed to Cavaillé-Coll both musically and in terms of his career. For, possession of the Saint-Sulpice great organ as a twenty-six year old provincial wasn't given to just anybody, even if Widor was no stranger to Paris musical life particularly the salons where his harmonium chamber music had earned him his first introductions. His disciple, Marcel Dupré, (1886-1971), perhaps the greatest organist of the XXth Century was to succeed him in 1934, so that the two musicians provided exactly a century of music in that organ loft. Is there any other place in the world as prestigious in the world of the organ? 

back to top of page

sommaire généralles musiciens du patronthèmes
Vidor

Charles-Marie Widor

Lyon 1844 - Paris 1937

Organiste de l’orgue Cavaillé-Coll de Saint-Sulpice (1870-1934)

Fils de l’organiste de St-François de Sales à Lyon, lui-même descendant de facteurs d’orgues alsaciens; figure majeure de la musique française " Troisième République " bien qu’injustement négligé aujourd’hui; Secrétaire Perpétuel de l’Académie des Beaux-Arts, titulaire du grand-orgue de Saint-Sulpice de 1871 à 1934.

Aristocrate de l’orgue, Widor représente peut-être la recherche la plus poussée d’adéquation avec le monde sonore de Cavaillé-Coll à toutes ses étapes, dans toutes ses grandioses réalisations à travers les décennies. Ses œuvres pour orgue montrent le souci de créer le grand geste et, plus que Franck, il est le créateur de la symphonie pour orgue.Bien qu’il ait joué pendant presque soixante-quatre ans à Saint-Sulpice et que plusieurs de ses compositions soient fondées sur des thèmes liturgiques, on ne trouvera pas chez lui une seule pièce " utilitaire " à l’instar de L’Organiste de Franck, L’Organiste Liturgiste de Guilmant ou L’Orgue à l’Eglise de Gigout. Plus encore que Saint-Saëns dont l’œuvre d’orgue est splendide mais occasionnelle et d’inspiration fondamentalement classique, Widor montre constamment le souci de faire reculer les limites de l’instrument. Il ne recule devant aucune prouesse technique — certes toujours au service d’un développement musical convaincant — et s’empare de la palette sonore et de la maniabilité symphoniques des œuvres de Cavaillé-Coll afin de hisser celles-ci au même rang que l’orchestre symphonique.

Ainsi, il est l’acteur souverain non seulement d’une liturgie de grand apparat mais d’une vie musicale d’une richesse rarement égalée. Widor a maintes fois répété ce qu’il devait à Cavaillé-Coll, à la fois musicalement et sur le plan de sa carrière. Car prendre possession du grand-orgue de Saint-Sulpice comme provincial de 26 ans n’était pas donné au premier venu, même si Widor n’était nullement un étranger à la vie musicale parisienne, notamment celle des salons où sa musique de chambre avec harmonium lui avait valu ses premières entrées. A Saint-Sulpice, son disciple Marcel Dupré (1886-1971), peut-être le plus grand organiste du XXe siècle, lui succédera en 1934, de sorte que ces deux musiciens ont assuré exactement un siècle de musique à cette tribune. Y a-t-il un autre lieu aussi prestigieux dans le monde de l’orgue ? 

retour en haut de page