indexAristide Cavaillé-Collcategories

From the GRAVE…in 1899

EVERYTHING ends here…or rather EVERYTHING begins here, in this moment! Friday morning, October 13 1899 Cécile CAVAILLE-COLL took up her pen and wrote to Charles Mutin: "My father died this morning at nine o'clock without suffering, as peacefully as possible. I wanted you to be one of the first to know and ask you to tell all those around you who were devoted to him and for whom he had so much affection. In deepest sorrow…"


The newspaper, "l'Illustration" eulogised the deceased. "Aristide, CAVAILLE-COLL, one of the glories of French industry has passed away. To him alone, we owe the enormous progress made over more than sixty years in the manufacture of magnificent and powerful instruments sought by the whole world, and among which we will only cite the Saint-Sulpice organs, the greatest of all, and perhaps those in the Madeleine, Notre-Dame, Trinité not to mention the organs in most of the churches in Paris".

Friends and the authorities were notified by an announcement of death

Charles MUTIN had bought the Manufacture on June 18 1898. To him fell the duty of paying homage to the deceased, on October 16 1899 at his grave in the Montparnasse Cemetery (division 18, section 1, 1st row North - no 27 East) before the assembled friends and workers.


"Le Patron"… this name, when it referred to Mr. Cavaillé-Coll had nothing in common with the casual name employees give to the head of a company; it meant something more, and was also more affectionate. Cavaillé-Coll was the head and protector of the organ factory in its entirety; he alone, and no-one else, raised his craft to the level of a science and an art and, thanks to his genius, the Organ has become the marvellous instrument we possess today".

"And now, Master, sleep your last sleep peacefully, with your name and memory reverently preserved…The Works that sing for you will ensure your immortality!"

back to top of page

Tombs in Montparnasse

sommaire généralAristide Cavaillé-Collthèmes

de la TOMBE... en 1899


TOUT s’achève ici...ou plutôt TOUT commence ici, à cet instant ! Vendredi matin, 13 octobre 1899 Cécile CAVAILLE-COLL prend sa plume et écrit à Charles MUTIN : " Mon père est mort ce matin à 9 heures, sans agonie, aussi doucement que possible. J’ai tenu à vous en avertir un des premiers et vous prie de faire part autour de vous, à tous ceux qui lui ont été dévoués et pour lesquels il garde tant d’affection. Recevez, je vous prie, mes souvenirs bien affligés ".

portrait d'Aristide

Le journal " l’Illustration " fait l’éloge du disparu. " Aristide CAVAILLE-COLL, une des gloires de l’ Industrie française vient de disparaître. C’est à lui seul que l’on doit les immenses progrès réalisés depuis plus de soixante ans dans la fabrication des magnifiques et puissants instruments que le monde entier se disputait, et parmi lesquels nous citerons seulement les orgues de Saint-Sulpice, les plus complètes de toutes, peut-être celles de La Madeleine, de Notre-Dame, de la Trinité, et d’ailleurs de la plupart des églises de Paris ".

Un avis de décès prévient les amis et les autorités.

Charles MUTIN a fait rachat de la Manufacture le 18 juin 1898. C’est à lui que revient de rendre hommage au défunt, le 16 octobre 1899, sur la tombe, au cimetière Montparnasse (18e division - 1ère section - 1ère ligne Nord - n°27, Est) devant les amis et les ouvriers rassemblés.

CAVAILLE-COLL est MORT !

" Le Patron ...ce nom, en désignant M. Cavaillé-Coll, n’avait rien de l’appellation familière que des employés donnent au chef d’une maison ; il voulait dire quelque chose de plus, de plus affectueux aussi. Cavaillé-Coll fut le chef et le protecteur de la facture d’orgues tout entière ; lui seul, et pas d’autres, éleva son métier à la hauteur d’une science et d’un Art, et grâce à son génie l’Orgue est devenu l’instrument merveilleux que nous possédons aujourd’hui. ".

" Et maintenant, Maître, dormez doucement de votre dernier sommeil, votre nom et votre souvenir pieusement conservés... Les Oeuvres qui chantent pour vous suffisent à votre entrée dans l’immortalité ! 

retour en haut de page

la tombe