indexThe workshopscategories

15 rue de Laval (Workshop)


In April 1847, Cavaillé-Coll left the annex at 42, rue Notre -Dame de Lorette made up of sheds facing onto rue Laval and forming a quadrilateral with the "Omnibus cafés restaurants à domicile" Company buildings which had been there since 1832. Alexis Vicomte de Botherel, a banker and one of the most daring speculators of that time, had founded the company. He had twelve wagons filled with hot fine foods and twelve filled with all kinds of wine going round the streets of Paris every day. He employed three hundred masons to build, as if by magic, a magnificent mansion with fifteen kitchens, the main one measuring no less than 40 metres long by 8 metres wide. All Paris crowded to visit this gigantic establishment the like of which had never been seen before in gastronomic history. "Lost illusions"! For the adventure was to be interrupted seven years later, opening up the outbuildings on the land to speculators and to all kinds of investments. In spite of all this, Cavaillé-Coll built a great number of instruments there.

Through the intermediary of generous donors, La Société d’Encouragement pour l’Industrie Nationale (S.E.I.N) awarded several outbuildings on this property to Cavaillé-Coll after he won the Medal in march and April 1834 for his presentation of his circular saw on the recommendations of Charles Mallet and Benjamin Francoeur.

Several organs were built there, in particular the one for the Ajaccio Cathedral which was played by Louis Séjan, the organist, on January 31 1847: "This performance took place on Wednesday evening in Mr. Cavallé-Coll's workshops, on rue de Laval; the accuracy and purity of the stops of this beautiful instrument could only increase the esteem in which Mr. Cavaillé-Coll's conscientiousness and talent is held by connoisseurs. - Corsica will henceforth have an instrument whose grandiose and solemn harmonies are worthy of the memory of the great man it gave birth to, and, through the nobility of religious music, be a balm to the sense of "vendetta" that still exists in the hearts of Napoleon's compatriots, in spite of the progress in civilisation". (La Gazette Musicale, no 1, January 5 1834).

The Company's investments were decided by a 263,000-franc Bond issued to Cavaillé-Coll by Henri Place, the banker. The construction of organs for the cathedrals of Quimper, Saint-Brieuc, Saint-Paul in Nîmes, Saint-Servan, the Madeleine in Paris, and others was planned.

back to top of page

map rue Laval
Omnibus Restaurant

sommaire généralles ateliersthèmes

15,rue de Laval (Atelier)


C’est en avril 1847 que Cavaillé-Coll se sépare de cette annexe du 42, rue Notre -Dame de Lorette formée de hangars donnant sur la rue de Laval et compris dans un quadrilatère où sont fixés, depuis 1832, les établissements de la Société des "Omnibus cafés restaurants à domicile" fondés par Alexis Vicomte de Botherel, banquier ; un des plus hardis spéculateurs de ce temps ! C'est ainsi qu'il fait circuler chaque jour dans les rues de la capitale douze voitures chargées de comestibles chauds, douze voitures chargées de vins de toute espèce. Trois cents maçons, obéissant à ses ordres, lui élèvent comme par enchantement un splendide hôtel et quinze cuisines, dont la principale ne mesure pas moins de 40m de long sur 8m de large. Tout Paris vient en foule visiter ce gigantesque établissement qui n’a pas de précédent dans l’histoire gastronomique. " Illusions perdues " ! Car l’aventure doit s’interrompre sept ans plus tard ouvrant les dépendances de terrains aux spéculations des entrepreneurs et des placements en tout genre. C'est pourtant en ces lieux que Cavaillé-Coll construit de nombreux instruments.

La Société d’Encouragement pour l’Industrie Nationale (S.E.I.N) accorde en ces lieux par l’entremise de généreux donateurs quelques dépendances à Cavaillé-Coll à la suite de la Médaille obtenue en mars et en avril 1834 pour la présentation de sa scie circulaire sur les rapports de Charles Mallet et Benjamin Francoeur.

Plusieurs orgues sont ici entrepris, notamment celui destiné à la cathédrale d’Ajaccio, qui est joué par l’organiste Louis Séjan, le 31 janvier 1847 : " Cette séance a eu lieu mercredi soir dans les ateliers de M. Cavaillé, rue de Laval ; et tous les jeux de ce bel instrument, d’une justesse et d’une pureté parfaites, n’ont fait qu’augmenter l’estime que les connaisseurs ont pour le talent conscencieux de M. Cavaillé - La Corse aura désormais un instrument digne, par son harmonie grandiose et solennelle, de célébrer la mémoire du grand homme auquel elle a donné le jour, et d’adoucir ainsi, par les nobles impressions d’une musique religieuse, l’esprit de " vendetta " qui perce toujours dans les moeurs des compatriotes de Napoléon, malgré les progrès de la civilisation ". (La Gazette Musicale, n°1, 5 janvier 1834).

Une Obligation de 263 000 francs consentie à Cavaillé-Coll par le banquier Henri Place le 16 novembre 1847 détermine les investissements de la Maison et décide de la construction des orgues des cathédrales de Quimper, de Saint-Brieuc, de Saint-Paul à Nîmes, de Saint-Servan, de La Madeleine à Paris, etc.

retour en haut de page

plan rue Laval
Omnibus Restaurant