indexAristide Cavaillé-Collcategories
Rossini
the poïkilorgue
the poïkilorgue

ROSSINI : "Meeting with the Maestro in Toulouse"


In collaboration with his father and brother, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll invented a "free" reed keyboard instrument: the " Poïkilorgue " which astonished the famous ROSSINI, who was passing through Toulouse, at the performance of "Robert le Diable" the opera by Meyerbeer. The First Night had been in Paris in November 1831 at the Opera, directed by Dr Louis Véron - in association with the banker, Alexandre Aguado, Marquis de Las Marismas, Maestro Rossini's patron - who was its director and financier. The quality of acting and singing of the company, which included the famous tenor, Adolphe Nourrit, could not have been better and was a tribute to the composer, Meyerbeer, a leader in the German school and its head.

At that time several epidemics broke out and cholera was active between 1829 and 1837.It reached the French capital on March 15 1832 and raged for six months killing eighteen thousand people. The "Journal de Débats" announced on March 28 that "cholera morbus is within our walls" but at the same time reassured its bourgeois clientele that the epidemic only attacked the lower classes. When the death of the then Minister of the Interior, Casimir Périer, a Paris deputy and member of the liberal opposition, was announced, there was a general panic throughout all levels of society! The Opera company fled the capital then. It ended up in the provinces, in Toulouse, where it performed on September 28 1832. Maestro Rossini and his patron, the Marquis de Las Marismas, followed it. The famous meeting with Cavaillé-Coll dates from that day.

Cholera was therefore the fortuitous reason for the rise of the young Aristide Cavaillé-Coll whom Prefect Barennes introduced, thanks to that performance on the stage of the Capitole, in the presence of Rossini. He heard Cavaillé-Coll's "Poïkilorgue" accompanied by the singers. The "free" reed instrument of Cavaillé-Coll Père &Fils benefited from that bit of luck and was inaugurated on March 7 1833 before a committee of competent friends chosen by Dominique Cavaillé-Coll, his father. Prefect Barennes was chairman and they met again on August 3 to judge the "Piano-poïkilorgue" model - derived from the basic principle - which consisted of an addition of an "expressive" "free" reed stop (oboe) which acted on the last three octaves of the grand piano lent for that purpose by Mr. Charles Ponsan, organist of the La Dalbade

Aristide Cavaillé-Coll set out for the capital the following year after the threat of cholera faded at the end of 1832. He "went up to Paris" with his circular saw, his poïkilorgue and his piano- poïkilorgue as baggage and references. In the interim he had developed his relationship with Mr. Boisgiraud and Mr. Borrel. He could finally win over the Academies and be introduced with letters of reference.

The initiatory journey to Paris took shape and on September 21 1833, his arrival at No 11 Quai Voltaire, was reported.

back to top of page

sommaire généralAristide Cavaillé-Collthèmes
Rossini
le poikilorgue
le poikilorgue

ROSSINI : " Rencontre avec le Maestro à Toulouse


Aristide Cavaillé-Coll invente en collaboration avec son frère et son père un instrument à clavier et à anches libres: le " Poïkilorgue " qui ne manque pas d’étonner le célèbre ROSSINI de passage à Toulouse, à la représentation de l’Opéra " Robert le Diable " du compositeur Meyerbeer. La première est donnée à Paris en novembre 1831 sur la scène de l’Opéra administré par le Docteur Louis Véron - associé au banquier Alexandre Aguado, marquis de Las Marismas, mécène du maestro Rossini - et qui en est le directeur-entrepreneur. La troupe qui comprend le célèbre ténor Adolphe Nourrit ne laisse rien désirer, ni dans son jeu, ni dans son chant, pour rendre hommage au compositeur Meyerbeer qui est à la tête de l’école allemande et en est le chef.

Plusieurs pendémies sont alors signalées à cette période et le choléra est actif de 1829 à 1837. Il atteint la capitale française le 15 mars 1832 et règne durant six mois, faisant dix-huit mille morts. Le " Journal des Débats " annonce le 28 mars que " le choléra morbus est dans nos murs " mais rassure en même temps sa clientèle bourgeoise que l’épidémie n’atteint que les classes populaires. L’affolement gagne toutes les classes de la population lorsque le décès de Casimir Périer, député de Paris et membre de l’opposition libérale, alors Ministre de l’Intérieur, est déclaré! La troupe de l’Opéra fuit alors la capitale. Elle aboutit en province, à Toulouse, où elle se produit le 28 septembre 1832. Le Maestro Rossini et son mécène, Marquis de Las Marismas, l’ont suivie. Le célèbre rencontre avec Cavaillé-Coll date de ce jour.

Le choléra est donc la cause fortuite de l’ascension du jeune Aristide Cavaillé que le Préfet Barennes présente à la faveur de cette représentation sur la scène du Capitole, en présence de Rossini. On lui fait entendre son " Poïkilorgue " dans l’accompagnement des chanteurs. L’instrument à anches libres de Messieurs Cavaillé-Coll Père & Fils bénéficie de cette chance et est consacré le 7 mars 1833 par une commission d’amis compétents choisis par Dominique Cavaillé Père. Placée sous la présidence du Préfet Barennes, elle se réunit encore le 3 août suivant pour juger du modèle de " Piano-poïkilorgue " - un dérivé du principe de base - consistant en un ajout d’un jeu expressif à anches libres (hautbois) qui agit sur les trois dernières octaves du piano à queue prêté à cet effet par Monsieur Charles Ponsan, organiste de l’église de La Dalbade, à Toulouse.

Aristide Cavaillé-Coll prend la route vers la capitale l’année suivante quand les menaces du choléra s’estompent à la fin de 1832. Il " monte à Paris " avec pour bagages et références, son poïkilorgue et son piano-poïkilorgue. Dans l’intervalle, il parfait ses connaissances auprès de Messieurs Boisgiraud et Borrel. Il peut enfin séduire les Académies et être introduit par des lettres de recommandations.

Le voyage initiatique vers Paris se précise et le 21 septembre 1833 son arrivée Quai Voltaire n° 11, est signalée.

retour en haut de page