indexThe familycategories
Félix Reinburg

REINBURG Félix (1837-1897)


FélixReinburg was the twin brother of Father Emile Reinburg, They were born in Strasbourg on February 17 1837. He owed his education to an aunt, a saintly woman who took the place of his deceased mother. On November 27 1860, he married Anaïs Lhuillier at Saint-Sulpice. They had eight children. His was the only branch of the family to continue with organ building .His son, Charles, joined Cavaillé-Coll's company in 1874, followed by his brother, Jean, in 1882. Charles's son followed them.

Like his brother, Gabriel Reinburg, Félix was a distinguished voicer known in particular for his work on the organs of the "abbaye aux Hommes in Caen", in 1882.

On that occasion, he attracted the attention of Charles-Marie Philbert, the French Consul in Amsterdam who was an expert on organ building and knew the Cavaillé-Coll company well. He wrote: "He is a true artist, and, I can say with absolute conviction an exceptional one. He has an innate sense of the poetry of the organ, a remarkably accurate eye and, what is truly rare, highly developed and refined taste".

Félix Reinburg was 1. 69m. tall with blonde hair and blue eyes, a straight nose, an average mouth, a rounded chin, an oval face and a light complexion. In 1872, he chose to have French nationality, which he intended to keep in spite of having been born in Strasbourg, city of shifting borders.

Félix Reinburg died on October 24 1897, in his home at No 117, avenue du Maine."As he lay dying, following a fall during the repairs to the Notre-Dame-de-Paris organ, his sons Charles and Louis watched by his bedside. In the evening, an old man visited the dying man. It was the old Aristide Cavaillé-Coll Coll who had come to visit one last time the man who, throughout his life, had helped and served him well. And there was nothing more heartrending than the sight of the old man weeping beside his employee". (Family archives, Félix Reinburg/Lenglet/Paradis)

back to top of page

sommaire généralla famillethèmes
Félix Reinburg

REINBURG Félix (1837-1897)


Félix Reinburg est le frère jumeau de l’abbé Emile Reinburg, né à Strasbourg le 17 février 1837. Il doit son éducation à une tante, une sainte femme, qui remplace la mère disparue. Le 27 novembre 1860, il épouse à Saint-Sulpice, Anaïs Lhuillier, qui lui donne huit enfants. C’est la seule branche de la famille qui laissent des facteurs d’orgues avec son fils Charles, entré chez Cavaillé-Coll en 1874 ; Louis, frère de Charles, entré en 1882 ; et Jean, fils de Charles.

Comme son frère Gabriel Reinburg, Félix est un harmoniste distingué qui se signale notamment aux orgues de l’abbaye aux Hommes à Caen, en 1882.

Il est remarqué à cette occasion par Charles- Marie Philbert, consul général de France à Amsterdam - expert en facture d’orgues, familier de la Maison Cavaillé-Coll - qui écrit de lui: " C’est un artiste véritable et je puis dire de conviction, un artiste hors ligne. Il y a chez lui la poesie innée du son de l’orgue, jointe à un coup d’oeil d’une justesse remarquable et à un goût d’un développement et d’une pureté véritablement rares ".

Félix Reinburg, mesurait 1m69, avec cheveux blonds, yeux bleus, nez droit, bouche moyenne, barbe blonde, menton rond, visage ovale, teint clair. En 1872, il avait opté pour la nationalité française, qu’il entendait conserver, malgré sa naissance à Strasbourg, ville aux frontières mouvantes.

Félix Reinburg décède le 24 octobre 1897 à son domicile situé n° 117, avenue du Maine. " Etant mourant, à la suite d’un chute faite à l’orgue de Notre-Dame de Paris pendant les réparations, ses fils Charles et Louis veillaient autour de lui. Le soir, un vieillard se présenta au chevet du moribond. C’était le vieux Aristide Cavaillé-Coll qui venait, une dernière fois, près de celui qui, toute sa vie, l’avait aidé et bien servi. Et rien n’était plus poignant que de le voir pleurer auprès de son ouvrier ". (Archives familiales ; branche Félix Reinburg/Lenglet/Paradis)

retour en haut de page