letterhead
"A. CAVAILLE-COLL Père & Fils" Société en Nom Collectif
(Partnership) from 1845 to 1849.

When the Cavaillé-Coll family, father and son, decided to venture up to Paris and tender for the construction of a neogothic organ case in the royal church of Saint-Denis … a group of individuals applied: a family! This was at the end of 1833. As in the old days, before the Revolution, Mr. Thiers chose a "favoured" candidate to execute the first big commission of the century, without the bank guarantee that was, a priori, assured by the shareholders' share capital.

Nonetheless, the legislator and the craftsmen were still a little unwilling to regularise this type of situation. This was the case also for Daublaine the organ builder who created a Partnership with Father Cabias in February 1834, the same month as the Cavaillé family received the commission for Saint-Denis.

Similarly, the organ builder, Abbey created his company "Abbey and Company" in December 1837 reckoning: "that by raising enough capital to meet the parish administrations' wishes, they would secure sizeable orders and thus, through the considerable profits to be made in this industry, would obtain a very good return on the investors' money, as well as offering complete security".

While the Cavaillés had entered into complex accounting for the Saint-Denis project, we can assume that the financial agreements for the development of Mr. Barker's machine were a deciding factor in the family consortium's decision to opt for a legal framework similar to their competitors'. The "Société en nom collectif" (Partnership), "A. Cavaillé-Coll Père & Fils" was formed on January 1845 to be wound up on December 31 1849 as a result of relative dissension between Aristide and his brother, Vincent. Thus, the commission, with a value of almost 100,000 francs, which was at first given to the members of one family, was transferred to a Company "in which all partners are jointly and indefinitely responsible for company debts". The amount of the share capital was not specified.

Thus the July Monarchy opted for "thinly disguise favouritism of the Cavaillé-Coll Company" throughout almost its entire political existence.

But the businessman, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, seemed free again and, from 1850 to 1856 he was his own liquidator. The new hope offered by the Second Empire led him then to found a " Société en commandite A. Cavaillé-Coll & Cie " (a limited partnership) "whose partners are jointly and severally responsible for the company's liabilities up to the amount of the declared capital of 200,000 francs".

back to top of page

indexThe company's financial historycategories

papier en-tête
"A. CAVAILLE-COLL Père & Fils" Société en Nom Collectif de 1845 à 1849


Lorsque la tribu Cavaillé-Coll Père et fils décide de s’aventurer à Paris et de soumissionner à la construction d’un buffet néo-gothique à l’église royale de Saint-Denis ... c’est un groupe d’individus qui candidate ; une famille ! Nous sommes à la fin de 1833. Comme naguère avant la Révolution, le gouvernement de Monsieur Thiers fait élection d’un candidat " privilégié " pour répondre à la première grande commande du siècle et ce sans la garantie bancaire, a priori, offerte par le capital social d’actionnaires.

On note pourtant une volonté encore timide du législateur et des artisans de régulariser ce type de situation. Il en est ainsi du facteur d’orgues Daublaine qui fonde une société en nom collectif avec l’abbé Cabias, en février 1834, le mois même où les Cavaillé reçoivent la commande de Saint-Denis.

Ne voit-on pas encore le facteur Abbey constituer sa société " Abbey & Cie " en décembre 1837 estimant " qu’en réunissant les capitaux suffisants pour répondre à ce voeu des administrations paroissiales, ils s’assureraient des commandes considérables et procureraient ainsi aux Capitalistes par les bénéfices importants que comporte cette fabrication un emploi très avantageux de leurs fonds, en même temps que la sécurité la plus complète ".

Alors que Messieurs Cavaillé sont engagés dans une trésorerie complexe pour le chantier de Saint-Denis, on peut admettre que les conventions financières d’exploitation de la machine de Monsieur Barker sont décisives pour amener le groupement familial à opter en faveur d’une régime juridique comparable aux usages des concurrents. Au n° 42 rue Notre-Dame de Lorette, la Société en nom collectif " A.Cavaillé-Coll Père & Fils " est constituée le 17 janvier 1845 ... pour être dissoute le 31 décembre 1849 par le fait d’une relative discorde entre Aristide et son frère Vincent. Ainsi la commande d’une valeur de près de 100.000 francs d’abord confiée à des membres d’une seule famille se transfère sous une raison sociale " dans laquelle tous les associés sont responsables indéfiniment et solidairement des dettes sociales " sans précision de capital social.

Ainsi la Monarchie de Juillet a-t-elle opté pour un " favoritisme à peine voilé de l’enseigne Cavaillé-Coll " dans la presque totalité de son existence politique.

Mais libre à nouveau et son propre liquidateur à partir de 1850, tel apparaît l’homme d’affaires Aristide Cavaillé-Coll jusqu’en 1856. Les espérances nouvelles offertes par le Second Empire le conduisent alors à fonder une " Société en commandite A. Cavaillé-Coll & Cie " dont les commandités sont responsables solidairement du passif social jusqu'à hauteur du capital déclaré de 200.000 francs.

retour en haut de page

sommaire généralvie économique de l'entreprisethèmes