indexThe patron's musicianscategories
Messerer

Henri Messerer

Marseille 1838 - Marseille 1923

Organist, Cavaillé-Coll great organ in Saint-Charles Cathedral, Marseilles (1873-1923).

Messerer was one of the innumerable church musicians of Alsatian origin who occupied the Parisian and provincial organ lofts and chapels in the XIXth Century. He came from a family whose business was the manufacture and sale of pianos. Educated in Marseilles, he occupied various posts before succeeding to the Saint-Charles organ loft where he presided over the 24 stops of the "little brother" of the Saint-Clotilde organ.

He made a good reputation for himself including with his Parisian colleagues. His activities went far beyond the scope of the ecclesiastical and he taught the organ and harmony and even became head of the Conservatory.

He was no doubt less closely linked to Cavaillé-Coll than Collin or Tournaillon, particularly since there were excellent organ builders in the South of France, amongst whom were Mader, Puget, Magen…who were in a position to compete with that other Southerner who had "gone up" to Paris. Messerer's aesthetics, however, like those of the organ builders' could not help but be affected by Cavaillé-Coll's style.

Two of his "Trois Pièces" are dedicated respectively to Charles Collin and his son Charles-Augustin Collin (a Cavaille-Coll organist at Rennes Cathedral), concrete proof that the master organ builder had, through his style, managed to create, beyond provincial borders, an artistic bond of sensitivity and tone that made the French school perhaps the most powerful in the world.

(This note is based on Patrick Geel's excellent study in La lettre de l'orgue en sud-est, no 1, November 1988; pp. 1-8.)

back to top of page

sommaire généralles musiciens du patronthèmes
Messerer

Henri Messerer

Marseille 1838 - Marseille 1923

Organiste du grand-orgue Cavaillé-Coll de Saint-Charles de Marseille (1873-1923)

Un des innombrables musiciens d’église d’origine alsacienne qui ont peuplé les tribunes et chapelles parisiennes et provinciales au XIXe siècle, Messerer venait d’une famille établie dans la facture et la commercialisation des pianos. Formé à Marseille, il occupa divers postes avant de succéder à la tribune de Saint-Charles, où il préside sur les 24 jeux d’un " petit frère " de l’orgue de Sainte-Clotilde et se fait une belle renommée y compris auprès de ses collègues parisiens.

Son activité dépassa largement le cadre ecclésiastique, et il a enseigné son instrument ainsi que l’harmonie, devenant même directeur du Conservatoire.Il a été sans doute moins étroitement lié à Cavaillé-Coll que Collin ou Tournaillon, du fait notamment de l’implantation dans le Midi de la France d’excellents facteurs, entre autres Mader, Puget, Magen…, à même de rivaliser avec cet autre Méridional " monté " à Paris; mais son esthétique comme celle des ces facteurs régionaux ne pouvait que se ressentir du style Cavaillé-Coll.

Deux de ses Trois Pièces sont dédiées respectivement à Charles Collin et à son fils Charles-Augustin Collin (organiste du Cavaillé-Coll de la Cathédrale de Rennes), preuve palpable que le maître facteur d’orgues avait su par la portée de son style, créer au delà des frontières régionales et culturelles un lien de sensibilité et de finalité artistique qui faisait de l’école française peut-être la plus puissante du monde.

(Cett notice est fondée sur l’excellente étude de Patrick Geel dans La lettre de l’orgue en sud-est n° 1 (novembre 1988), pp. 1-8.)

retour en haut de page