indexThe patron's musicianscategories
Lemmens

Nicolas-Jacques Lemmens

Zoele-Parwijs, Belgium 1823 - Sempst Près Malines, Belgium 1881

Organ professor at the Brussels conservatory.

The son of a village organist, sexton and teacher, Lemmens climbed all the rungs of the musical world. He was a protégé of Fétis, musicologist, and head of the Brussels Conservatory which he had "created" during the 1840s to renew the art of the organ playing in Belgium. (The German organ builder, Merklin, who was established in Brussels, ensured a simultaneous renewal of the instrument before becoming Cavaillé-Coll's main rival in Paris from 1855).

In addition to a strong musical personality, Lemmens had the distinction of having perfected his skills - still at the instance of Fétis - at Breslau under the German, Hesse, who, because of the death of the famous Rinck, was seen as the keeper of the J.S. Bach tradition. Today, musicology has determined that this relationship existed much more on paper than in an active musical aesthetic.

A devout Catholic, and therefore not at all inclined to adopt completely the "Protestant" style of a Bach, Lemmens certainly asked for nothing else but to conquer the musical world with virtuoso playing which, nonetheless, was dominated by that polyphonic control of all the voices, the greatest legacy left by the German master. He dazzled the Paris musical world with his concerts at Saint-Vincent de Paul in 1852, establishing his reputation as a true "modern classicist".

Like Lefébure-Wely he was to marry a singer, the famous English singer, Helen Sherrington, and spent a good part of his career in his wife's country. But, above all, he was known as an organ professor at the Brussels Conservatory, where he taught top students and, on the express initiative of Mr. Cavaillé-Coll, the best young French talent - Alexandre Guilmant, Charles-Marie Widor… - to polish their technical and aesthetic skills. (Cavaillé would have liked Lemmens to settle in Paris, but he obviously wanted to remain free; besides he had not had a big church appointment).

So, Cavaillé-Coll's genius was evident well beyond his actual works, for not only did he have vision with regard to sound, he also had a very specific idea of the artist who would show it to advantage.

back to top of page

sommaire généralles musiciens du patronthèmes
Lemmens

Nicolas-Jacques Lemmens

Zoele-Parwijs, Belgique 1823 — Sempst près Malines, Belgique 1881

Professeur d’orgue au conservatoire de Bruxelles.

Fils d’un organiste-sacristain-instituteur de village, Lemmens gravit tous les échelons de la vie musicale, protégé du musicologue Fétis, directeur du Conservatoire de Bruxelles, qui l’a " crée " au cours les années 1840 pour renouveler l’art organistique belge. (Le facteur d’orgues allemand Joseph Merklin, installé à Bruxelles, assure le renouveau instrumental parallèle avant de devenir le principal rival parisien de Cavaillé-Coll à partir de 1855).

A la puissance de sa personnalité musicale s’ajoute- toujours sur l’impulsion de Fétis - l’aura d’un " stage de perfectionnement " chez l’Allemand Hesse à Breslau, pressenti en raison de la mort du célèbre Rinck comme détenteur de la tradition de J.-S. Bach. Aujourd’hui, la musicologie a pu déterminer que cette filiation existait beaucoup plus sur le papier que dans une esthétique musicale opérative…

Catholique fervent, donc peu enclin à adopter à la lettre le geste " protestant " d’un Bach, Lemmens ne demande pas mieux que de conquérir le monde musical par un jeu virtuose certes, mais dominé par le contrôle polyphonique de toutes les voix, héritage plus profond du maître allemand. Il éblouit le monde musical parisien lors de ses concerts à Saint-Vincent de Paul en 1852, s’imposant comme référence, véritable " classique moderne ".

Comme Lefébure-Wely il épousera une cantatrice, en l’occurrence la célèbre Anglaise Helen Sherrington, et Il passera une bonne partie de sa carrière dans la patrie de son épouse. Mais il est connu surtout comme professeur d’orgue au Conservatoire de Bruxelles, où il forme des élèves de haut niveau et accueille à l’initiative expresse de Cavaillé-Coll les meilleurs jeunes talents français — Alexandre Guilmant, Charles-Marie Widor… — pour parachever leur formation technique et esthétique. (Cavaillé aurait souhaité que Lemmens lui-même s’installât à Paris, mais celui-ci souhaitait manifestement rester libre; d’ailleurs, il n’a pas occupé un poste d’église important.)

Ainsi, le génie de Cavaillé-Coll se manifeste bien au-delà de ses œuvres proprement dites, car il a non seulement une vision sonore mais aussi une idée fort précise de l’artiste qui doit mettre en valeur celle-ci.

retour en haut de page