indexThe company's financial historycategories
head paper

The LOANS

The public commission to build an organ for the royal church of St Denis meant that Aristide Cavaillé-Coll had to balance his accounts by borrowing either from private individuals - Henri Place, the banker -or from official banking institutions.

Therefore, the practice in the XIXth Century was for loans to be repaid by the district and church councils and other administrative bodies by assignment of the debt to the. projects underway. The Cavaillé-Coll Company was to obtain other loans by mortgaging its property holdings which meant that the Company had a very precarious trade balance for a time. It thus had to have a well-filled order book as Aristide Cavaillé-Coll stated "I must point out on this subject that, since most of my work is for churches, I am obliged to negotiate in particular with church councils. The district councils and the State often only contribute in terms of grants and aid to the churches".

Joseph Merklin the organ builder - Cavaillé-Coll's main competitor -for his part remarked, on October 21 1882 that: "The administration des cultes that has honoured us with its confidence for many years, has always encouraged the Bishops to choose an organ builder before putting the work out to tender and has never presented estimates from different organ builders for the same work. That is how organ projects have been largely shared between the Cavaillé-Coll Company and ours".

This was clearly an allusion to the support given to the Cavaillé-Coll Company by the State. The presence of Mr Hyppolyte Blanc, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll's brother-in-law, at the Administration des Cultes, made him the favoured beneficiary of the Government throughout his career till he retired in 1881.

Overdue loans were the cause of the sale of the Manufacture Avenue du Maine, in 1892.

back to top of page

sommaire généralvie économique de l'entreprisethèmes
papier en tête

Les EMPRUNTS

Avec la commande publique pour la construction d’un orgue à l’église royale de St Denis, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll doit rechercher l’équilibre de sa trésorerie par des emprunts, soit à des personnes privées - le banquier Henri Place- soit à des organismes officiels réunis sous l’enseigne de banques.

Il est donc coutumier au XIXe siècle d’assister à des emprunts dont les traites soient étendues sur les communes, les fabriques des églises et des autres administrations au moyen de délégation et de cession du marché. D’autres emprunts de la Maison Cavaillé-Coll seront accordés grâce à une hypothèque prise sur ses biens immeubles affectant pour un temps un équilibre bien précaire de la balance commerciale de l’Entreprise. Il devient donc nécessaire de disposer d’un carnet de commandes bien rempli lorsque Aristide Cavaillé-Coll déclare : " Je dois faire remarquer à ce sujet que mes travaux étant principalement destinés aux églises, je suis obligé de traiter mes affaires, notamment, avec les Fabriques des églises. Les Communes et l’Etat n’interviennent souvent qu’à titre de subventions ou de secours aux églises ".

Le facteur d’orgues Joseph Merklin - principal concurrent de Cavaillé-Coll - fait observer de son côté le 21 octobre 1882 que "  L’administration des cultes qui nous honore de sa confiance depuis de longues année, a toujours engagé les Evêques à faire choix d’un facteur avant de demander un concours pécuniaire et à ne jamais présenter pour le même travail des devis de différents facteurs. C’est ainsi que les travaux d’orgues ont été partagés en grande partie entre la Maison Cavaillé-Coll et la nôtre ".

Il était clairement fait allusion ici au soutien accordé par l’Etat à la Maison Cavaillé-Coll. La présence à l’Administration des Cultes de Monsieur Hyppolyte Blanc, beau-frère, d’Aristide Cavaillé-Coll le désigne comme le prestataire privilégié du Gouvernement tout au long de sa carrière, jusqu'à son départ de l’activité en 1881.

Ces emprunts non remboursés dans les temps requis entraînaient alors la vente de la Manufacture Avenue du Maine, en 1892.

retour en haut de page