indexthe familycategories
Cécile Cavaillé-Coll

CAVAILLE-COLL Cécile( 1854-1944 )


Cécile Cavaillé-Coll was the eldest in the family and stayed by her father's side all her life to bring up her brothers and take her mother's place after her death in 1868. Like all well-brought up young ladies Cécile took up watercolours as her mother, Adèle Blanc. had done. We know that, as a child, she was close to the friends of the family who were all well-known artists and painters: Dominique Ingres, Ary Scheffer, Eugène Isabey, Henri Place the banker and so on She remembered the best moments in the house at n°94 rue de Vaugirard which adjoined an old "Salle de Concerts Spirituels" which served as a workshop and showroom for instruments:

"…my father worked in a big attic room on the top floor. My mother kept her easel there for she sometimes picked up her charcoals to sketch her children's faces. That is how I came to be present, alas unaware of what I was witnessing, at discussions which soared beyond the limits of the stars: Léon Foucault and my father pursuing the muse that was to deliver the secret of the speed of light; Lissajous, the learned physicist. - I can see César FRANCK, whiskers awry, face set, listening with all his concentration to the chord he is holding with his sinewy fingers, on the keyboard; LEFEBURE-WELY, svelte, elegant, charming…a little like a street urchin; LEMMENS, majestic, imposing, dominating."

When the familly left the Manufacture avenue du Maine in 1893 because of the compulsory sale of the property, Cécile and her aged father, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, moved to No 21 rue du Vieux-Colombier. They lived in a few square metres on the fourth floor which they sublet from Madame la Générale Morand. They had "an anteroom, one room that served as a living room, another beside it with a window on to the courtyard, and, finally, a kitchen". Cécile had the use of a studio or art school belonging to the city of Paris where she taught a few pupils.

In a hand-written will written in a shaky hand on October 6 1897, the " Patron " Aristide Cavaillé-Coll appointed his daughter, Cécile "Sole legatee" and "expresses the wish that she receive a pension to thank her for the devoted and assiduous care that she has never ceased to take of him".

In 1929, with the aid of her brother Emmanuel Cécile published a work entitled: "Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, ses origines, sa vie, ses œuvres".

Cécile Cavaillé-Coll retired to Héry (Yonne) to a house bought for her old age and died at the age of 90 on January 17, 1944. She is buried near her father in the tomb in Montparnasse Cemetery
.

back to top of page

sommaire généralla famillethèmes
Cécile Cavaillé-Coll

CAVAILLE-COLL Cécile( 1854-1944 )


L’aînée de la famille est Cécile CAVAILLE-COLL qui reste auprès de son père toute sa vie durant pour élever ses frères et se substituer à sa mère, décédée en 1868. Comme toute jeune fille bien éduquée, Cécile se consacre à l’aquarelle, comme sa mère Adèle Blanc. Il est vrai qu’elle approche dans son enfance les amis de la famille, tous dessinateurs ou peintres distingués : Dominique Ingres, Ary Scheffer, Eugène Isabey, le banquier Henri Place etc. Elle revoit les meilleurs moments dans la maison 94 rue de Vaugirard qui jouxte une ancienne Salle de Concerts Spirituels servant d’atelier et de présentation d’instruments :

"... mon père travaillait dans une grande pièce mansardée au dernier étage. Ma mère y tenait son chevalet, car elle reprenait à l’occasion ses fusains pour esquisser la tête de ses marmots. C’est ainsi que j’ai assisté, témoin inconscient, hélas, à des entretiens dont la portée dépassait les étoiles: Léon Foucault et mon père interrogeaient la sirène qui devait livrer à l’astronome le secret de la vitesse de la lumière; venait travailler le savant physicien Lissajous. - Je revois César FRANCK, les favoris au vent, les traits contractés, l’oreille attentive à l’accord qu’il tient de ses doigts nerveux sur le clavierLEFEBURE-WELY, svelte, élégant, charmeur . . . un peu gavroche; LEMMENS, majestueux, imposant, dominateur "

Lorsque toute la famille quitte en 1893 la Manufacture avenue du Maine frappée d’adjudication, Cécile se retrouve avec son vieux père Aristide Cavaillé-Coll au n° 21 rue du Vieux-Colombier. Sous-locataires de Madame la Générale Morand, ils occupent quelques mètres carrés, au 4ème étage, consistant " en une anti-chambre, une pièce servant de Salon, une autre à côté éclairée par une fenêtre sur la cour et enfin, une cuisine. Dans la cour, Cécile dispose d’un atelier ou Ecole de Dessin appartenant à la Ville de Paris et où elle enseigne à quelques élèves.

Par testament olographe écrit d’une main tremblante le 6 octobre 1897, le " Patron " Aristide Cavaillé-Coll institue sa fille Cécile " Légataire universelle " et "  souhaite qu’une pension lui soit versée pour la remercier de tous les soins dévoués et assidus dont elle n’a pas cessé de l’entourer ".

Cécile publie en 1929 avec le concours de son frère Emmanuel l'ouvrage intitulé : " Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, ses origines, sa vie, ses oeuvres ".

Cécile Cavaillé-Coll se retire à Héry (Yonne) dans une maison acquise pour ses vieux jours et décède à l’âge de 90 ans, le 17 janvier 1944. Elle repose, près de son père, dans la tombe au cimetière Montparnasse.

retour haut de page