indexthe familycategories
Adéle Blanc
Aristide Cavaillé-Coll

BLANC Adèle (1828-1868)

Mrs Aristide CAVAILLE-COLL - sister of Hippolyte -

Like her brother she was from Marseilles and came to live in Paris with her parents on rue Notre Dame-de-Lorette, across from her future husband, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll's workshop. There were many guests at their wedding including: Victor HAMILLE; Vincent CAVAILLE; Hippolyte BLANC; Sébastien ERARD; the harmonium maker, DEBAIN etc.

She owed her interest in drawing and painting to the banker, Henri Place's involvement in her husband's business. At the time of Adèle's marriage, in 1834, Henri was a friend and a member of the painter Ingres's, circle. He shared with him and the painters Scheffer and Isabey, a keen interest in art and also had business interests in common with them.

In the portrait she did of her sister-in-law, Marie de Simony, in 1862, Madame Cavaillé-Coll, demonstrated her talent and her attachment to the Ingres school.

The union was fruitful producing seven children of whom only four survived. She died on October 20 1868 the day after the birth of her seventh child (the baby was pronounced stillborn) at Choissy-le-Roi, in her parents-in-law's old house where she had gone to rest and await the birth. She is buried in the Montparnasse Cemetery in Paris beside Aristide Cavaillé-Coll.

Cécile CAVAILLE-COLL ( 1854-1944 )
Emmanuel CAVAILLE-COLL (1860-1922)
Joseph CAVAILLE-COLL ( 1862-1884 )
Gabriel CAVAILLE-COLL (1864-1916 )

Mrs. Blanc/Cavaillé was to lose two young children to croup in 1859: Isabelle and Pierre, aged eight months and three respectively.

back to top of page

sommaire généralla famillethèmes
Adéle Blanc

BLANC Adèle (1828-1868)

Madame Aristide CAVAILLE-COLL - soeur d’Hippolyte -

Comme son frère, elle est originaire de Marseille, et s’installe avec ses parents à Paris, rue Notre-Dame-de-Lorette, face aux Ateliers de son futur époux, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll. Les témoins sont nombreux au mariage tels : Victor HAMILLE; Vincent CAVAILLE; Hippolyte BLANC; Sébastien ERARD; le facteur d’harmonium, DEBAIN etc.

Elle doit son intérêt pour le dessin et la peinture du fait de la présence aux affaires de son mari, du banquier Henri Place qui au moment de son mariage, en 1834, compte parmi ses relations et témoins, le peintre Ingres, conserve avec celui-ci et les peintres Scheffer et Isabey, les meilleures émotions artistiques et complicités dans le milieu des affaires.

Avec le portrait qu’elle dresse de sa belle-soeur Marie de Simony, en 1862, Madame Cavaillé-Coll, démontre son talent et son attachement à l’Ecole d’Ingres.

L’union est féconde et donne 7 enfants...dont quatre seulement survivent. Elle meurt, le 20 octobre 1868, au lendemain de la naissance du septième enfant (enfant déclaré " sans vie ") à Choisy-le Roi où elle était parti se reposer dans l’ancienne maison de ses beaux-parents pour accueillir cette naissance. Elle repose auprès d’Aristide Cavaillé-Coll au cimetière Montparnasse, à Paris.

Cécile CAVAILLE-COLL ( 1854-1944 )
Emmanuel CAVAILLE-COLL (1860-1922)
Joseph CAVAILLE-COLL ( 1862-1884 )
Gabriel CAVAILLE-COLL (1864-1916 )

Madame Blanc / Cavaillé devait perdre en bas âge deux enfants atteints de la maladie du croup, en 1859 : Pierre et Isabelle, respectivement de trois ans et de huit mois.

retour haut de page