indexThe workshopscategories
96 and 94 rue de Vaugirard
plan of the proposed rue de Rennes

Workshop at No 94-96 rue de Vaugirard "Salle de Concerts Spirituels"



In April 1854, two months after his marriage to Adèle Blanc, Aristide Cavaillé-Coll and his workers moved into the two main buildings separated by a courtyard, of the old Salle de Concerts Spirituels, at No 94-96 rue de Vaugirard. The organ builder remained there till the summer or 1868.

This "Salle de Concerts Spirituels", was built with his own money by François-Xavier Croizier (1808-1887). Intended for the teaching of religious music by this pupil of Choron, it was inaugurated in December 1852 under the name of the "Conservatoire de Musique Religieuse". He received the wholehearted support of the clergy, but failed to gain the confidence of the Government represented by Hippolyte Fortoul, Minister of State and Religious Education, one of whose favoured employees was a certain Hippolyte Blanc, Mr. Cavaillé-Coll's new brother-in-law! The premises were spacious and consisted primarily of a Byzantine hall from the drawings of Mr. Chabouille, the architect, and decorated with painted frescoes by Tournante and Gournet. (Gazette Musicale no 6, January 2, 1853 and Le Menestrel, no 5, January 2 1853).

A political intrigue born of envy was set in motion by Louis Niedermeyer (1802-1861), a naturalised Frenchman of Swiss origin, and an ex-pupil of Moscheles, and Förster in Vienna. He developed a friendship with a knowledgeable lover of singing and music, Joseph Napoleon Ney, Prince of Moskowa (1803-1857), the son of Marshall Ney. They had both made political and financial connections very early in their lives and gained the protection of Mr Thiers due to their ancestry. Since 1828, Joseph Ney had been married to the daughter of Lafitte, the banker, one of Henri Place's partners. The theft of Mr. Croizier's idea to the advantage of Mr. Niedermeyer, was prepared in the halls of power in the order of August 24 1853 instituting the creation of the "Ecole Niedermeyer". The press, in favour of the event, celebrated "The much wished for resurrection of the old music schools, (Mr.Choron and Mr. Croizier's idea) with the added advantage of centralisation and consequently uniting doctrine and teaching. So many good things rolled into one". This school was to find appropriate premises at the Place Pigale in the St. Georges district…thus immediately freeing the ones that had been newly built by the unfortunate Croizier and robbing him of his property to the direct advantage of the Cavaillé-Colls. Hippolyte Blanc's office was responsible for the simultaneous opening of these files leading to the "initiation of a political decision" in favour of his brother-in-law, a favoured beneficiary of the government. Zoning regulations, the pushing through of the Rue de Rennes, and the upheaval in Paris caused by Baron Haussmann led Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, to look for a new location on the avenue du Maine still on the left bank of the Seine. Cécile Cavaillé-Coll describes the best moments in the house at 94-96 rue de Vaugirard for us.

back to top of page

sommaire généralles ateliersthèmes
plan 96 et 94 rue de Vaugirard
plan de la future rue de Rennes

Atelier du n° 94-96 rue de Vaugirard " Salle de Concerts Spirituels "



C’est en avril 1854, deux mois après son mariage avec Adèle Blanc, que Aristide Cavaillé-Coll et ses ouvriers s’installent dans deux corps de bâtiments séparés par une cour ou Ancienne Salle de Concerts Spirituels, situés n° 94-96 rue de Vaugirard. Le facteur d’orgues y demeure jusqu'à l’été 1868.

Construite sur ses fonds propres par François-Xavier Croizier (1808-1887) cette " Salle de Concerts Spirituels " voulu par cet élève de Choron pour l’enseignement de la musique religieuse est inaugurée en décembre 1852 sous l’enseigne " Conservatoire de Musique Religieuse ". Pour cela, il s’entoure des meilleurs appuis du Clergé mais n’obtient pas la confiance du Gouvernement représenté par Hippolyte Fortoul, Ministre de l’Instruction Publique et des Cultes ayant pour employé privilégié un certain Hippolyte Blanc, beau-frère depuis peu de Mosnieur Cavaillé-Coll ! Les lieux sont spacieux et consistent notamment en une Salle construite en style byizantin d’après les dessins de M. Chabouille, architecte et décorée par des fresques peintes, œuvre de MM. Tournante et Gournet. (Gazette Musicale n°6 du 2 janvier 1853 et Le Menestrel n°5 du 2 janvier 1853 ).

Une initiative jalouse et politique se fait jour par l’entremise de Louis Niedermeyer (1802-1861), un Suisse naturalisé français, ancien élève de Moscheles et de Förster à Vienne, qui tisse des liens d’amitié avec un mélomane averti de chant et très épris de musique, Joseph Napoléon Ney, prince de la Moskowa (1803-1857), fils du Maréchal Ney. Ces deux personnalités ont gagné très tôt, du fait de leurs ascendances, des liens politiques et financiers, la protection de Monsieur Thiers. Joseph Ney est marié depuis 1828 à la fille du banquier Lafitte, l’un des partenaires de Henri Place. L’opportunité de ravir l’idée de Monsieur Croizier au bénéfice de Monsieur Niedermeyer est envisagée dans les allées du Pouvoir par le décret du 24 août 1853 instituant la création de " l’Ecole Niedermeyer ". La presse favorable célèbre l’événement de " la résurrection, tant souhaitée, des anciennes maîtrises,(idée de MM. Choron et Croizier) avec un avantage de plus, celui de la centralisation et par conséquent de l’uniformité de doctrine et d’enseignement. Que de bonnes choses dans une seule ". Cette Ecole doit trouver un local approprié dans le quartier St Georges, place Pigale ... libérant immédiatement par substitution, ceux fraîchement construits par l’infortuné Croizier ainsi spolié de ses biens qui profiteront directement à Messieurs Cavaillé-Coll. On doit au bureau dirigé par Hippolyte Blanc l’instruction simultanée de ces dossiers pour une "décision politique initiée" en faveur de son beau-frère, prestataire privilégié du Gouvernement. Le plan d’occupation des sols, le percement de la Rue de Rennes et le bouleversement de Paris sous l’action du Baron Haussmann amènent Aristide Cavaillé-Coll, en 1866, à rechercher un nouveau lieu d’implantation avenue du Maine sur cette rive gauche de la Seine. Cécile Cavaillé-Coll témoigne pour nous des meilleurs instants dans la maison du n° 94-96 rue de Vaugirard.