THE PORT-VENDRES II SHIPWRECK

The cargo of this ship, second shipwreck discovered in Port-Vendres (Pyrénées-Orientales), gives a particularly comprehensive image of the Spanish exportations in the middle of the first century of our era.
Composed of wine, oil, salted fish, copper, lead and tin bars from Extremadura, it also illustrates the importance of the Guadalquivir to export the production of this region of the Iberian peninsula.


Salting amphora

The tin bars turned out to be particularly interesting. The interpretation of one of the inscriptions present on their flat side, allows to situate the time of their production between 41/42 and 48 AD. Moreover, they represent the well dated first proof of the exploitation and trade of Spanish tin by Rome.

The material discovered during this excavation also allows the apprehension of life and work on board. Indeed, ceramics, pieces of metallic crockery, toilet implements, tools are as many evidences allowing to determine as exactly as possible what the sailors’ life was like in the antiquity.


Inkpot


Oil lamp

With the collections of many ships brought to light, the maritime world as a whole will be developed in the museum, at present in progress in Port-Vendres.

Fouille : Dalli Colls

Photos : Dalli Colls / Alexandre Mayans

L'ÉPAVE PORT-VENDRES II

La cargaison de ce navire, seconde épave découverte à Port-Vendres (Pyrénées-Orientales), donne une image particulièrement complète des exportations espagnoles au milieu du Ier siècle de notre ère.
Composée de vin, d'huile, de salaisons de poissons, de lingots de cuivre, de plomb et d'étain en provenance de l'Extrémadoure, elle illustre également l'importance du Guadalquivir dans l'exportation des production de cette région de la péninsule ibérique.


Amphore à salaison

Les lingots d'étain se sont avérés particulièrement intéressants. L'interprétation de l'une des inscription présente sur leur face plane, permet de situer leur production entre 41/42 et 48 après J.-C. Ils représentent, de plus, le premier témoignage bien daté de l'exploitation et de la commercialisation de l'étain espagnol par Rome.

Le matériel découvert lors de cette fouille permet également d'appréhender la vie et le travail du bord. En effet, la céramique, la vaisselle métallique, les instruments de toilette, les outils sont autant d'indices permettant de cerner au plus près la vie des marins dans l'Antiquité.


Encrier


Lampe à huile

Avec les collections des nombreux autres navires mis au jour, c'est l'ensemble de ce monde maritime qui sera développé dans le musée, actuellement en cours de réalisation à Port-Vendres.

Fouille : Dalli Colls

Photos : Dalli Colls / Alexandre Mayans