Logo I T I N E R A R Y
Castle Courtyard Chapel Exhibition room

The itinerary of the exhibition follows the chronological evolution of the Magdalenian culture over the whole Pyrenean territory, through the three main French areas of the present time : Aquitaine, Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon. For Spain it covers the Basque Country and the Cantabric coast. A map in relief indicates the location of the sites. Large drawings illustrate the animals hunted and used for food.
The exhibition then begins in the next room.

The valleys of the Northern slopes of the Pyrenees, still directly under the influence of the last glaciers, are abandonned by men for the Cantabric coast which benefits of a milder climate, owing to the proximity of the sea. It is then in this area that the first Magdalenian works of art appear. They consist in figures of does engraved on scapula, for exemple in Altamira and El Castillo caves, which are also found on the walls of these same caves (Early Magdalenian era , from 17 000 to 14 500 before present).

The Middle Magdalenian era (from 14 500 to 13 000) sees the development of the conquest and mastery of the territory. A large amount of the implements originates from two great regional base camps : Isturitz (Pyrénées-Alantiques) and Mas-d’Azil (Ariège).

The transmission of some topics (spear-thrower « au faon et aux oiseaux » ) or decoration technique (ochre, amber, lignite inlaid on some spear-throwers and spiral decoration on hemi-cylindrical sticks) enables to grasp the notion of cultural unity.


The repetition of some ornamental objects as cut-away sculptures of horse heads in bone (70 exemplaries from all the Pyrenean sites are displayed in a single showcase) strengthens the feeling of this cultural homogeneity. This production is contemporaneous with the first sanctuaries (Niaux, Trois-Frères, Portel caves...).

A film on the Niaux sanctuary-cave is displayed and helps to establish a connection between two forms of art : portable art and wall art. The engraved plaquettes on sandstone and schist are often considered as miniature wall art : archaeologists found them in sanctuaries and also in settlements. More than a thousand have been found in Enlène cave-dwelling (Ariège). One of the most original features of this Magdalenian Pyrenean art consists, on the one hand, in stone-carvings (horses and bisons made from pink sandstone of Isturitz and Duruthy, « cheval agenouillé » of Duruthy for the western part of the Pyrenees) and, on the other hand, in hand-modelings as well as engravings of animals on clay discovered in the most remote areas of the Central Pyrenees caves (bisons of the Tuc-d’Audubert cave, plaquette « au bison » of the Bédeilhac cave).

Engraved bison a plaquette

Other artefacts illustrate the relation of the Magdalenian hunters with the Atlantic coast (« dent de cachalot » in the Mas-d’Azil cave, shells) and funeral customs (reshaped skull bone fragments).

A few human figures and representations depicting sexual organs - generally male - are also found (phallus in the Mas-d’Azil cave and in the Isturitz cave).

Phallus carved ivory

The exhibition ends up with a display of the Late Magdalenian era (from 13 000 to 11 000). The climate gets warmer and forests become widespread in plains and valleys. As regards portable art, the use of stag antler replaces the use of reindeer antler and cervidae antler. The abundance of engraved bird bones is noticeable (La Vache cave and El Valle cave in the province of Santander).

New iconographic topics appear, with schematic ibex figures (« poignard » of the La Vache cave) and some others, more « realistic » of stags and horses (pierce baton of the El Pendo cave and baton « aux cerfs et aux saumons » of the Lortet cave in the Hautes-Pyrénées).

This great art of hunters, brought to perfection by the Magdalenians, approximatively ends in 11 000 before present, with the end of Ice Age.
For obvious reasons, only films on the great wall art of the decorated caves of Altamira and Niaux will be displayed. However, because of the tight links existing between wall and portable arts, one must bear in mind that the magdalenian culture must be studied through these two productions. This is one of the ways present day research tries to follow.


Prehistoric Art of the Pyrenees

Logo P A R C O U R S
Vue extérieure du château Cour intérieure du château Entrée de la chapelle Vue intérieure de l'exposition

Le parcours de l'exposition suit l'évolution chronologique de la culture magdalénienne sur tout le territoire des Pyrénées, à travers les trois grandes régions françaises actuelles de l'Aquitaine, du Midi-Pyrénées et du Languedoc-Roussillon, et, pour l'Espagne, du Pays Basque et du prolongement de la côte cantabrique. Une carte en relief précise l'implantation des sites. Des illustrations de grand format évoquent la faune chassée et consommée. Commence ensuite l'exposition proprement dite.

Les vallées du versant nord des Pyrénées, encore sous l'influence directe des derniers glaciers, sont désertées au profit de la côte cantabrique qui bénéficie d'un climat adouci par l'océan. C'est donc dans cette région qu'apparaissent les premières ceuvres d'art magdaléniennes, figurations de biches gravées sur omoplates (Altamira, El Castillo), que l'on retrouve sur les parois des mêmes grottes (Magdalénien ancien, de -17 000 à -14 500 avant le présent).

Au Magdalénien moyen (de -14 500 à -13 000), la conquête et la maîtrise du territoire s'accentuent. Deux grands campements de base régionaux, Isturitz (Pyrénées-Atlantiques) et le Mas d'Azil (Ariège) concentrent une grande part des objets produits.

La notion d'unité culturelle est perceptible à travers la transmission de certains thèmes (propulseurs "au faon et aux oiseaux") ou techniques de décor (les incrustations d'ocre, d'ambre ou de lignite présentes sur certains propulseurs, le décor en spirale des baguettes demi-rondes).


Cette homogénéité est encore sensible à travers la répétition de certaines formes d'objets de parure comme les contours découpés en forme de têtes de chevaux (70 exemplaires provenant de tous les sites des Pyrénées sont réunis dans une même vitrine). Cette production est contemporaine des premiers sanctuaires (grotte de Niaux, des Trois-Frères, du Portel...).

La projection d'un film sur la grotte-sanctuaire de Niaux permet de relier entre elles les deux formes d'art que sont l'art mobilier et l'art pariétal. Les plaquettes gravées, sur grès ou sur schiste, sont souvent considérées comme de l'art pariétal en miniature : les archéologues les ont mises au jour dans les sanctuaires mais aussi dans les habitats. Plus d'un millier de celles-ci ont été retrouvées dans la grotte-habitat d'Enlène (Ariège). L'un des caractères les plus originaux de cet art magdalénien des Pyrénées est la sculpture sur pierre (chevaux et bisons en grès rose d'Isturitz et de Duruthy, "cheval agenouillé" de Duruthy pour la partie occidentale des Pyrénées) et les modelages et gravures d'animaux sur argile découverts dans les zones les plus reculées des grottes des Pyrénées centrales (bisons du Tuc d'Audoubert, plaquette "au bison" de Bedeilhac).

Plaquette gravée

D'autres objets illustrent les rapports des chasseurs magdaléniens avec le littoral atlantique ("dent de cachalot" du Mas-d'Azil, coquillages) et les pratiques funéraires (fragments d'os craniens humains façonnés).

On trouve aussi quelques rares figurations humaines et des représentations à caractère sexuel généralement masculin (phallus du Mas-d'Azil et d'Isturitz).

Phallus sculpté sur ivoire

L'exposition se termine sur l'évocation du Magdalénien supérieur (de -13 000 à - 11 000). Le climat se réchauffe et la forêt envahit les plaines et les vallées. Dans l'art mobilier, les supports en bois de cerf supplantent le bois de renne et de cervidés. On constate la multiplication des os d'oiseaux gravés (La Vache et El Valle dans la province de Santander).

De nouveaux thèmes iconographiques apparaissent, avec des représentations schématiques de bouquetins ("poignard" de La Vache) et d'autres, plus "réalistes", de cerfs et de chevaux (bâton percé d'El Pendo et bâton "aux cerfs et aux saumons" de Lortet, dans les Hautes-Pyrénées).

Ce grand art des chasseurs, porté à sa perfection par les Magdaléniens, s'achève vers - 1 1 000 avant le présent, avec la fin des temps glaciaires.
Pour des raisons évidentes, le grand art pariétal des grottes ornées ne sera présent dans l'exposition que par l'audiovisuel (films sur Niaux, Altamira). Cependant, l'unité de la culture magdalénienne, perceptible dans les formes de l'art pariétal comme dans celles de l'art mobilier, implique des rapports étroits entre toutes ces productions. C'est l'une des voies de la recherche actuelle qui doit s'efforcer de rapprocher les vestiges laissés sur les sols, les objets d'art mobilier et l'art pariétal dans une seule et même perspective culturelle.


L'Art préhistorique des Pyrénées